The Highlands School
Middle/High School
Classics | English | Fine Arts | Health | History/Social Studies
Math & Science | Foreign Language | Physical Education | Theology
           
 

Faculty & Staff

Board of Trustees
Administration

Formation
Support Staff
Lower School
Middle/High School
Athletic Department

  Classics (Latin)    
   

Mr. Nathan Maresh

Middle and High School Latin Teacher
Middle School Religion Teacher

Theology, Franciscan University of Steubenville, B.A.
Theology, University of Dallas, M.A.

nmaresh@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

  Faculty members do not have phones in their Classrooms; the best way to communicate with them is via email. If you do not have access to email, please call the main office at (972) 554-1980 to leave a message.  

Ms. Audrey DeGuzman

Chair of the Classics Department
Middle and High School Latin Teacher

University of Dallas, B.A. Classical Philology
University of Texas at Dallas, M.A. Literature
Texas State Board of Education Certified: Latin and EC-12th Grade

adeguzman@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2012

           
      English    
     

Ms. Toni Seeton

Chair of the English Department
High School English Teacher

Angelo State University, B.A.
University of Dallas, Masters in English
Dallas Baptist University, M.A. Counseling

tseeton@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2011

     

Mr. Zachary Meckley

High School English Teacher

Thomas Aquinas College, B.A.

zmeckley@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2013

     

Dr. Adam Muller

Middle School English Teacher

Thomas More College, B.A.
University of Dallas, M.A.
University of Dallas, Ph.D.

amuller@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2005

     

Mrs. Isabell Elias

Middle School English Teacher
High School Speech

University of Texas @ El Paso, B.A. English Literature

ielias@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2011

         

 

      Fine Arts  

 

     

Mrs. Kathyn Borum

High School Art Teacher

kborum@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mrs. Karen Ward

Lower School Music Teacher
High School Music Teacher
Middle and High School Choir

Rhodes College, B.A.
New England Conservatory of Music, MM

kward@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2005

     

Mrs. JoAnna Zabolio

Lower and Middle School Art Teacher

University of Texas A&M, B.A.
University of North Texas, BFA

jzabolio@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2007

         

 

      History/Social Studies

 

     

Mr. Robert Brassil

Librarian
High School History Teacher

College of the Holy Cross, B.A. in History
Indiana University, MBA in Marketing
Lesley University, MEd in International Education

bbrassil@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2004

     

Miss Catherine Alvis

High School History Teacher

University of Dallas, B.A. in Political Philosophy

calvis@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mr. Jim Capehart

Middle School History Teacher

University of Dallas, B.A. Theology
Regina Apostolorum Pontifical University, B.A. Philosophy
Holy Apostles College and Seminary, M.A. Philosophy
University of St. Thomas (Houston, TX), PhD Candidate Philosophy

jcapehart@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

         

 

      Math & Science  

 

     

Dr. Cheryl Huff

Chair of the Math Department
High School Math Teacher

University of Kentucky, B.A.
University of Kentucky, M.S.
Univeristy of Dallas, Theological Studies
Univerisity of North Texas, PhD

chuff@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2010

     

Dr. Michael Trulson

Chair of the Science Department
High School Science Teacher

University of Iowa, B.A. in General Science
University of Iowa, M.A. in Biopsychology
University of Iowa, PhD. in Biopsychology
Princeton University, Post-doc in Neuroscience

mtrulson@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2007

     

Mrs. Bernice Engel

Middle and High School Math Teacher

Texas A&M University, B.S.

bengel@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2005

     

Mrs. Tiffanie Krasner

Middle School Science Teacher

The University of Texas at Arlington, B.S. in Middle Level Math and Science Education
The University of Texas at Arlington, M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction with and Emphasis an Science Education

tkrasner@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Ms. Joanna Brunet

High School Math Teacher

 University of Texas at El Paso, B.S. Ind.

jbrunet@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mr. Michael Berndt

High School Theology Teacher
High School Physics Teacher

mberndt@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

           
      Modern Language (Spanish)  
     

Mrs. Alina Fernandez

Chair of Modern Language Department
High School Spanish Teacher

Univ. of Arkansas, Fayetteville (B.A., Spanish/ French)
L’Institut de Touraine, Tours (Diplome)
Kansai Gaigaku Daigaku, Osaka (Cert. of Studies) Japanese University

amaldonado@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 1990

     

Mrs. Maria Sobenes

Middle and High School Spanish Teacher

msobenes@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

         

 

      Physical Education

 

     

Miss Kaitlyn Mitcham

Lower & Middle School Physical Education Teacher

Kinesiology from Ouachita Baptist University, B.A.

kmitcham@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2012

         

 

      Theology  

 

     

Dr. Irene Alexander

High School Theology Teacher

Philosophy and Theology, University of Scranton, B.A.
Theology, Ave Maria University, M.A.
Moral Theology, Ave Maria University, Ph.D.

ialexander@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mr. Michael Berndt

High School Theology Teacher
High School Physics Teacher

mberndt@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mr. Nathan Maresh

Middle and High School Latin Teacher
Middle School Religion Teacher

Theology, Franciscan University of Steubenville, B.A.
Theology, University of Dallas, M.A.

nmaresh@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2014

     

Mrs. MaAngeles Ibañez

Middle School Religion Teacher

mibanez@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 1986

     

Miss Trisha McClellan

Instructor of Formation – Girls’ School
Middle School Religion Teacher

tmcclellan@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2011

     

Miss Laura Matthews

Instructor of Formation – Girls’ School
Middle School Religion Teacher

lmatthews@thehighlandsschool.org

Since 2011

     

Miss Becca Olek

Instructor of Formation - Girls' School
Middle School Religion Teacher

Mater Ecclesiae College, B.A. in Religious and Pastoral Studies

bolek@thehighlandsschool.org

phone ext.

Since 2013

           
           

The Highlands School implements the Integral Formation™ method of education developed
by the Legionaries of Christ.
Copyright©  The Highlands School Inc. 2015. All rights reserved.
Love Christ. Serve people. Build the Church.